top of page

South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame announces an increase in size of future Induction classes

The 62nd Annual South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony & Banquet will be held on May 20, 2024, at the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center. Tickets, sponsorships and tables that seat eight will go on sale in mid-December and may be secured at

COLUMBIA -- In an attempt to honor more individuals and to address the abundance of quality nominees, the Executive Committee of the South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame has voted unanimously to enshrine a maximum of 10 individuals annually, up from the regular seven that has been the custom.

“Beginning with the Class of 2024, the South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame will now honor 10 outstanding individuals annually,” said Executive Director Andy Solomon. “We had been enshrining only seven, but we have a lot more worthy candidates than we have positions and that has created a logjam.

“We have roughly 200 names that have been submitted for consideration and our Nominating Committee does a tremendous job of trimming that list down to a workable number,” he added. “The process is very, very competitive.”

Solomon noted that the addition of more inductees will not lengthen the time of event because organizers have streamlined the program so that it keeps moving.

The SCAHOF Board of Directors will vote for the Class of 2024 on December 7 with the formal announcement to come once all of the inductees have been notified.

This past May, the SCAHOF’s enshrinement banquet was sold out and welcomed 900 guests and more than 1,800 viewers on social media sites. Enshrined were USC soccer coach Mark Berson, Greenwood native and USC wide receiver Robert Brooks, Clemson quarterback and Orangeburg native Woody Dantzler, Olympic hammer-thrower and USC grad Dawn Ellerbe, Alvin native and Georgia Tech quarterback Joe Hamilton, Columbian and NBA all-star Jermaine O’Neal and Clemson golf coach Larry Penley. The group also inducted posthumously Negro League standout Charles “Chino” Smith of Darlington Country to create the list of eight that were inducted last year.

Prior to 2023, only seven individuals were inducted. There are now 335 enshrined members.

bottom of page